Kronk’s Spinach Puffs

When Liam settled on spinach as February’s vegetable of the month, the first idea he had was to make spinach puffs like Kronk in The Emperor’s New Groove


Google “Kronks spinach puffs” and you are transported to a super fandom of cooks who have blogged, videoed, snapped and tweeted their version of the treats. 


Foolishly, I had grocery shopped prior to looking for recipe inspiration. I had a plan in my head that called for puff pastry, ricotta, spinach and some other bits and pieces I would figure out as I puttered along.

Luckily, as I shuffled through websites and pins I shaped the following recipe and my poor planning was not too hard a hurdle to overcome. For the picky eater in my life I omitted onion, garlic, and nutmeg found in other recipes.

Kronks Spinach Puffs a la Liam

In a magic bullet or blender zap 1 cup of thawed, drained, and squeezed out (put it in a sturdy paper towel and squeeze all the extra water out) spinach into to bullet along with on egg, 1 t salt, pepper,  1/4 c parmigian, and 1 1/2 c ricotta until it’s a homogeneous mixture.

Roll out one sheet of puff pastry and cut into 16 squares. Pop the squares into alternating cups of a mini muffin tin- you will have a few that will be next to each other, but generally these need room to puff.

Scoop 1 scant T of the spinach mix into each pastry and pull the corners to the middle.

Bake for 12 minutes at 350


Liam said he didn’t like them.



He LOVED them.

Liam says “The spinach part was cheesy and the bread part was crunchy.”

Others in the house thought they were bland, but that was kinda the point. 

Liam, “I think I’m starting to like spinach food.”

Me, “!!!”

Another win for spinach!

Leave a comment